a little something about traveling

It’s not for the faint of heart.  At least, a 3-month trip spanning 5 countries and 2 continents is not.   But just a few things I’ve learned:

  1. Round trip does not have to start or end in the same place to be roundtrip.  Saved $700.
  2. Promptly spent $700 on a 1-way that might not be worth it, much like the US Gov did with that surprise money from TARP.
  3. Trips originating in developing countries are cheaper.
  4. Round trips are cheaper. Sometimes by half.
  5. Russia makes it obnoxiously hard to get a visa. I have to provide invitation letter, tourist voucher, application, and a lot of money.
  6. Rumor has it the visa office is only open for an hour in UB.
  7. Thank God I already have my Indian visa and don’t have to worry about getting it.
  8. I might have to get an exit visa for Mongolia.
  9. Soviet bureaucracy is time-consuming.
  10. It’s still snowing in April in Siberia.

Tomorrow I go to verify that I can get my Russian visa before I leave UB, or else I’m not taking the train.  Once that is verified, I will gather paperwork, and then proceed back over there to drop off my passport and hope for the best, while shelling out a LOT of money for this adventure.

Tagged ,

Leave a Reply

