new year new you

It’s a new year, and time to make my resolutions: lose 10 pounds, be happier, watch less TV, etc, etc. And while most of those will fall by the wayside within 2 weeks or so of Jan 1, there is one resolution I would really like to keep. This blog was intended to be a place to set forth my thoughts on various topics and chart the progress of my life. And I’ve realized that in the 5 or so years I’ve had it, that I’ve not been very good about blogging and have thus missed an opportunity to see life change. So, here’s to a new year and renewed intention.

I’ve started this new intention with another resolution I’d like to keep: being mindful about eating. While I intellectually know about calories in/out, a balanced diet, and what’s healthy, in practice, there is a lot more that goes into the choices we actually make. So, here’s an attempt to get back on track with being in love with food vs overly attached to food.

I’ve occasionally joked that sometimes I’m like a rescue dog – I overeat with the expectation that I don’t know where/when/what my next meal will be. But behind the humor, there is some desperation around what it means to have access to food. Not that there was ever a point in my life when I didn’t have such access, but I do think biologically there is a wiring towards ensuring we are satiated. When we’re in touch with, and mindful of, what we are doing in the present moment, that signal of satiety comes at an appropriate time. When we’re too busy doing something else while we’re eating, we miss the signal and often overeat.

There is more here, of course. Probably some issues around what endings mean (and how to avoid them), too. But I’ll save that for a future post.

Instead, here’s to charting a new course. Love requires no attachment; in fact, true, pure love abhors attachment.  It is instead an utter sense of freedom. To truly love and enjoy food is to see food for what it is, nourishment, enjoyment, expressions of love and culture, and many other things, and not to use food as a substitute for or means of obtaining something else.

Next steps: developing a set of guiding principles. Not necessarily goals, but more a sense of purpose. I’ve also set my intention to bringing more movement into my life, particularly HIIT and yoga, so perhaps it’s a good time to take some “before pictures” as well.

Tagged ,

One thought on “new year new you

  1. Chaitali says:

    Love this post. I have the same problem with mindless eating. I’m always eating in front of the computer or the tv (or with friends but that one’s acceptable!) and that makes it so hard to truly enjoy the food. I’m working on mindfulness in several areas but food is definitely one of them.

    And oh, I’ve started a blog this month about my running, with some food talk thrown in :)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 551 other followers

