korean does it right

It has come to my attention that I adapt to change too easily.  This isn’t to say there is some amount of adjustment period required, but rather that I shift into a new lifestyle far more readily than one would expect. And far more quickly, hence, my slight amount of shock upon landing in Incheon.  With a permanent look of startlement on my face, I made my way to the Korean Air counter and picked up my hotel voucher. 

It turns out, Korean Air doesn’t leave you hanging.  I did have to leave the airport (therefore getting another stamp in my passport), but only went about a 10 minutes drive to the Hyatt Regency.  It was, as all American chains are abroad, fancy and swanky, and my room was almost the size of my apartment.  And to top it off, they gave me food vouchers – breakfast (which I slept through), lunch, and then dinner at the airport.  Not bad at all.

Of course, leaving UB was a production – the temperatures dropped drastically, heading into the deepest of winter.  I got out in time, it seems, but was hardly dressed for running around at the airport trying to find an open door.  They say it will be a dzud this year.  Don’t doubt it.

So, 4 hours after my ticketed departure, we were in the air, fighting strong tail winds to arrive at Incheon at 1 am.  Today, there is massive amounts of fog, so I expect tonight’s flight to be delayed somewhat too.  But I have a 6 hour layover in Mumbai, so I’m not too concerned.

Korea is warm and humid and populated.  It feels bizarre.  I had a delicious tofu miso kimchi soup with grilled fish, all of which tasted fresh and flavorful.  Then I slept in a large warm comfortable bed and stole hotel toiletries on my way back to the airport. 

Tomorrow, I arrive in Ahmedabad to meet my brother and sister-in-law, then off to stay with family for a week.  And maybe even see Avatar again….

Tagged ,

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 551 other followers

